Back to top

Opinion

by John Black · 06/11/2018 8pm
The Catholic Boy’s High school I was sentenced to during the term of my teenage years held a weekly assembly, the centrepiece of which was the principal’s address, preceded by a song. Memorably, one Monday morning some poor sap chose John Lennon’s Imagine .
by Dieuwe de Boer · 30/10/2018 8pm
What do you know about Monsieur Beltrame? Cast your mind back and perhaps you'll remember reading the newspaper on a warm morning in March where, on page 4, you read an article about a "cultural enrichment event" in Trèbes, near Carcassonne.
by John Black · 29/10/2018 8pm
Halloween is not big with the conservatively minded. It is seen as a primer in paganism, an anti-Christian gateway drug, leading to an adulthood of excessive mascara application, dressing in black, and taking Aleister Crowley seriously.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 29/10/2018 9pm
It's been over two months since I attended the Nigel Farage event in Auckland, but a few weeks ago someone sent me a link to the following tweet. I thought that I was just some guy who put his opinions in the internet in the hopes that someone, or anyone, would find them interesting.
by John Black · 18/09/2018 9am
The annual government enforced Te Reo week has prompted the usual high-minded musings from media and academic worthies, including invoking the concept of "decolonisation". John Black browses Teen Vogue to find answers.
by John Black · 10/09/2018 8pm
Last week, one of those controversies that could only exist in the age of the Twittersphere set the American commentariat briefly alight. "First Man", a biopic of Neil Armstrong currently doing the festival circuit, irked the patriotic by not depicting America’s proudest moment.
by S. Crawford · 21/08/2018 8pm
I spoke to someone the other day who said her daughter-in-law was Maori and grew up ashamed of it as a kid. It wasn't until she was an adult and learnt her history that the pride came. I honestly believe that is the problem nowadays.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 07/09/2018 8am
There's a new star on the block. She's a self-described classical liberal, an artist, and animal rights activist. She also has a Youtube channel on which she's quite regularly started making videos just over a month ago. And they get better and better.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 04/08/2018 5pm
After the Stefan Molyneux and Lauren Southern event was cancelled by the Powerstation owner just 4 hours before the start time, a quick rally for free speech was organised, but the left-wing anti-speech mob came to shut it down too.
by Kennedy Baker · 01/08/2018 8am
The reasoning behind a Bill that will give people the right to "volunteer" for euthanasia or assisted-suicide states that "the motivation behind this Bill is 'compassion'"; a method by which we - as a society - can protect the ‘vulnerable’ from suffering, and forge an autonomy for our ill that they may not have.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion