Back to top

Opinion

by Dieuwe de Boer · 17/08/2021 9pm
With recent news on COVID Plan B's Simon Thornley and now parliamentary staffer Ani O'Brien considering legal action against libellous harassment, I thought I would share my experience in this area.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 28/06/2021 9pm
Hate speech is back on the menu — Tova O'Brien's interview with Justice Minister Kris Faafoi was eyebrow raising. If I write an opinion piece 'Jacinda Ardern is a communist or a dictator', could I be stung for hate speech? Instead of just saying "no", we're given a very bizarre answer where Kris ...
Rubicon River
by Dieuwe de Boer · 28/05/2021 8am
We don't have to defend bad behaviour, we don't have to stand up for someone with a nasty attitude, but we should defend people's right to freedom of expression.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 16/04/2021 10pm
Banning "hate" against religion is a return of our recently vapourised blasphemy laws, but with more teeth. Nature abhors a vacuum. A society must have some form of blasphemy laws.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 02/03/2021 8pm
A subtle shift that has taken place with recent lockdowns here that I felt obliged to comment on. Last week, the Ministry of Health COVID-19 website was updated with the following ...
by Dieuwe de Boer · 12/02/2021 6pm
In the early days of this incarnation of cancel culture (c. 2016-2018) it was wise to oppose it, but few did. Now we're well past the point of no return. The tide is coming in, and only a fool would dare to oppose it.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 26/01/2021 5pm
What are you doing to make the spaces you spend your time in better? A supporter sent in the following positive message.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 22/01/2021 5pm
Ultimately all the equality and anti-separatism fighting comes from good intent, but it's a trap. It will always be framed by the evil journalist class as inverted. So as a 2021 New Year's Resolution, why don't we just stop doing it?
by Dieuwe de Boer · 18/01/2021 7pm
Last year was a bit of a wild one for me, and not one I plan to repeat. Yet the path it's started me down has to continue. Now a year on from the police raid in January, things progress slowly.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 19/11/2020 8am
I was struck by two stories this week. The first that abortions are up by 9% and the second that the nation's fertility rate dropped to its lowest ever of 1.63 children per woman.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion