Back to top

Opinion

by Dieuwe de Boer · 20/11/2018 7pm
Disaster has struck as members of Generation Snowflake have had to sit their end of year Level 3 NCEA exams. It's not that the maths exam was too hard this time, but that the history exam contained a word that was too unusual.
Alexandria Occasional-Cortex
by John Black · 19/11/2018 8am
I was a teenage communist. For about a week. One of my routine excavations of the local library had uncovered a copy of the Communist Manifesto by Messrs Engels and Marx. This insufferableness came to an end when my wise and gentle father gave me another book.
by John Black · 06/11/2018 8pm
The Catholic Boy’s High school I was sentenced to during the term of my teenage years held a weekly assembly, the centrepiece of which was the principal’s address, preceded by a song. Memorably, one Monday morning some poor sap chose John Lennon’s Imagine .
by Dieuwe de Boer · 26/11/2018 8pm
One of Jacinda's inevitable targets was abortion law, which she has repeatedly claimed she wants treated as a health issue that shouldn't be in the Crimes Act. This is a non sequitur. The location of abortion law, or any law, is irrelevant.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 30/10/2018 8pm
What do you know about Monsieur Beltrame? Cast your mind back and perhaps you'll remember reading the newspaper on a warm morning in March where, on page 4, you read an article about a "cultural enrichment event" in Trèbes, near Carcassonne.
by John Black · 29/10/2018 8pm
Halloween is not big with the conservatively minded. It is seen as a primer in paganism, an anti-Christian gateway drug, leading to an adulthood of excessive mascara application, dressing in black, and taking Aleister Crowley seriously.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 29/10/2018 9pm
It's been over two months since I attended the Nigel Farage event in Auckland, but a few weeks ago someone sent me a link to the following tweet. I thought that I was just some guy who put his opinions in the internet in the hopes that someone, or anyone, would find them interesting.
by John Black · 18/09/2018 9am
The annual government enforced Te Reo week has prompted the usual high-minded musings from media and academic worthies, including invoking the concept of "decolonisation". John Black browses Teen Vogue to find answers.
by John Black · 10/09/2018 8pm
Last week, one of those controversies that could only exist in the age of the Twittersphere set the American commentariat briefly alight. "First Man", a biopic of Neil Armstrong currently doing the festival circuit, irked the patriotic by not depicting America’s proudest moment.
by S. Crawford · 21/08/2018 8pm
I spoke to someone the other day who said her daughter-in-law was Maori and grew up ashamed of it as a kid. It wasn't until she was an adult and learnt her history that the pride came. I honestly believe that is the problem nowadays.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion