Back to top

Opinion

by Dieuwe de Boer · 04/09/2019 9am
The government is remaining tight-lipped on how well the gun confiscation programme is going. They release the total figure of firearms purchased to date, but 15,276 firearms means nothing without some context.
Jesse Anderson
by Dieuwe de Boer · 03/09/2019 7pm
It was the first week of June when my friend Jesse Anderson tragically took his own life. We had been creating the Right Minds Podcast together for nearly three months, meeting most Tuesday nights to have dinner, chat, plan, and record.
by Alex Eastwood-Williams · 07/08/2019 9pm
The government has announced that it plans to introduce reforms to New Zealand's abortion law reforms. This is an emotive topic, and it's not one I particularly want to write about, but I cannot in all good conscience remain silent on the issue. From the outset, let me make my position clear: I am ...
by Dieuwe de Boer · 25/06/2019 10pm
I've written on Folau twice. First during the minor skirmish with the anti-Christian media last year, and then I covered it a second time during the opening salvo of this new war. I genuinely expected things to die down.
by John Black · 24/06/2019 8pm
Death and taxes, they say, are the two unavoidable facts of existence. But taxes can be avoided if you sleep in Albert Park and play the bongo drums for spare change outside McDonald's. Death, on the other hand, comes for us all.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 24/05/2019 8pm
About a year ago I drafted an obituary for the ACT Party. I didn't publish it, but with all the flailing about and bizarre antics Seymour was doing trying to stay relevant while being dead in the polls, I thought it was about time to write them off.
by John Black · 20/05/2019 8pm
A year and a half out from the cannabis referendum and the air is thick with pot-head panegyrics to the delights of Mary Jane. Well I’m here to tell you the dope fiends have got it wrong. It’s almost as if their minds have been befuddled.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 17/05/2019 5pm
This is the main problem with Newshub's "Because It Matters" series: it's not about journalism, it's just political activism designed to push for changes to our laws.
by Tim Wikiriwhi · 14/05/2019 8pm
One Te Puke Kiwifruit Orchardist Drove all the way to Te Awamutu tonight to stare National Party MPs Barbara Kuriger and Chris Bishop in the eye and tell them how the new Arms Act they helped enact has grievously impacted on his business.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 11/05/2019 8pm
Newshub has published a preview of a new special show they're airing called "Because It Matters", with the tagline for the episode being "Hidden in plain sight: #Newshub's Patrick Gower investigates racism in New Zealand."

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion