Back to top

Opinion

by Dieuwe de Boer · 27/11/2018 9am
Why haven't we heard about the Global Compact for Migration here in New Zealand? President Trump made waves when he rejected the Pact, due to be signed this December, nearly a year ago. Many other nations have withdrawn support, but what about us?
by Dieuwe de Boer · 20/11/2018 7pm
Disaster has struck as members of Generation Snowflake have had to sit their end of year Level 3 NCEA exams. It's not that the maths exam was too hard this time, but that the history exam contained a word that was too unusual.
Alexandria Occasional-Cortex
by John Black · 19/11/2018 8am
I was a teenage communist. For about a week. One of my routine excavations of the local library had uncovered a copy of the Communist Manifesto by Messrs Engels and Marx. This insufferableness came to an end when my wise and gentle father gave me another book.
by John Black · 06/11/2018 8pm
The Catholic Boy’s High school I was sentenced to during the term of my teenage years held a weekly assembly, the centrepiece of which was the principal’s address, preceded by a song. Memorably, one Monday morning some poor sap chose John Lennon’s Imagine .
by Dieuwe de Boer · 26/11/2018 8pm
One of Jacinda's inevitable targets was abortion law, which she has repeatedly claimed she wants treated as a health issue that shouldn't be in the Crimes Act. This is a non sequitur. The location of abortion law, or any law, is irrelevant.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 30/10/2018 8pm
What do you know about Monsieur Beltrame? Cast your mind back and perhaps you'll remember reading the newspaper on a warm morning in March where, on page 4, you read an article about a "cultural enrichment event" in Trèbes, near Carcassonne.
by John Black · 29/10/2018 8pm
Halloween is not big with the conservatively minded. It is seen as a primer in paganism, an anti-Christian gateway drug, leading to an adulthood of excessive mascara application, dressing in black, and taking Aleister Crowley seriously.
by Dieuwe de Boer · 29/10/2018 9pm
It's been over two months since I attended the Nigel Farage event in Auckland, but a few weeks ago someone sent me a link to the following tweet. I thought that I was just some guy who put his opinions in the internet in the hopes that someone, or anyone, would find them interesting.
by John Black · 18/09/2018 9am
The annual government enforced Te Reo week has prompted the usual high-minded musings from media and academic worthies, including invoking the concept of "decolonisation". John Black browses Teen Vogue to find answers.
by John Black · 10/09/2018 8pm
Last week, one of those controversies that could only exist in the age of the Twittersphere set the American commentariat briefly alight. "First Man", a biopic of Neil Armstrong currently doing the festival circuit, irked the patriotic by not depicting America’s proudest moment.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion